Chris McKinney Captures 2008 WI Chess Tour!

Congratulations to 2008 Wisconsin Chess Tour winner Chris McKinney. He held off TD Guy Hoffman at the WI Memorial to capture his first Tour title. Guy takes second.

Since the place winners were in class A, Jim Coons moved up to take the A prize and Robin Grochowski took the B prize. Greg Reese, Jr took the C prize while WCA Treasurer Ken Rasmussen captured the D prize. Sean Chang captured the Under 1200 prize.

The $450 prize fund came from $1 per entry from the nine Tour events.

The 2009 Wisconsin Chess Tour kicks off February 7-8 with the UW-Winter Open. The remainder of the 2009 Tour includes The Waukesha Memorial Feb. 28, Hales Corners April 25, Arpad Elo Open May 16-17 (Pewaukee), Green Bay Open July 25-26, Wisconsin Closed Championship (Milwaukee) Sept. 5-7 and the Badger Open (Waukesha) October 3-4 with additional events to be approved by the WCA Board of Directors later in the year.

LATEST NEWS:  Events Added!  In addition to those listed above, 2009 Tour events include Greg Knutson Memorial October 24-25 (Madison), William Martz Memorial/North Central Open (Pewaukee) November 27-29 and Wisconsin Memorial (Madison) December 19-20.